WIEA Regions & Board Members

Board Members 2016-2017

Back Row From Left: Tim Fish (Alternate South Region), Sommer Drake (Southeast Region), Aaron Bird Bear (South Region), Katrina Werchonski (Northwest), Christine Munson (Central Region), Sean Saiz (Alternate South Region), Brian Jackson (Northwest Region), Front Row From Left: Celeste Clark (Southeast), Doreen Wawronowicz (Northeast Region), Susan Crazy Thunder (Northeast Region), Rebecca Comfort (South Region), Krystle Topping (Northwest Region), Jolene Bowman (Central Region), Barb Munson (Alternate Central Region) Not Pictured: Shannon Mason Young (West Region), Virginia Nuske (East Region), Barbara Blackdeer-MacKenzie (West Region) Amy Tromp (Southeast Region)

NORTHWEST REGION:

Counties – Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Sawyer, Washburn, Burnett, Polk, Barron, Rusk

Board Members:

Brian Jackson, Lac du Flambeau, President
Term Expires: 2018
Lac du Flambeau Public School
Cultural Connections Program Director
2899 WI Hwy 47
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
(715) 588-3800
brian.jackson@ldfschool.org

Alternates:

William White

Katrina Werchonski, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians (Ojibwe)

Elle Abeles-Allison


 CENTRAL:

Counties – Price, Taylor, Lincoln, Clark, Marathon, Wood, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca

Board Members:

Jolene Bowman, Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians
Term Expires: 2017
Vice-President, Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians
N8476 MoHeConNuck Rd Bowler, WI 54416
Bowler, WI 54416
(715) 793-4111
jolene.bowman@mohican-nsn.gov

Christine Munson, Oneida, Secretary
Term Expires: 2018
College Advising Specialist
Student Advising Center – C132
Northcentral Technical College
1000 W. Campus Drive
Wausau, WI 54401
(715) 803-1093
(715) 571-8382
munson@ntc.edu
www.ntc.edu

Alternates:

Andrew Gokee, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians (Ojibwe)
Director
UW-Stevens Point Native American Center
2100 Main Street
Stevens Point, WI 54481-3897
(715) 346-3576
agokee@uwsp.edu
www.uwsp.edu

Barb Munson, Oneida
Founder
WIEA Indian Mascot and Logo Task Force
(715) 693-6238
(715) 571-9296
barb@munson.net
www.indianmascots.com

Roberta Moege-Carrington

Jayson Jackson


WEST:

Counties – St. Croix, Dunn, Chippewa, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo, Eau Claire, Trempealeau, Jackson, Monroe, La Crosse, Juneau, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Sauk

Board Members:

Barbara Blackdeer–Mackenzie, Ho-Chunk, Vice President
Term Expires: 2017
Juvenile Justice Program Supervisor
Ho-Chunk Nation
808 Red Iron Road
Black River Falls, WI 54615
(715) 284-2622 x5184
barbara.mackenzie@ho-chunk.com
ho-chunknation.com

Shannon Mason-Young
Term Expires: 2016
P. O. Box 445,
Black River Falls, WI 54615
(715) 299-4110
cloud.andi@gmail.com

Alternates:

Tara Tindall, Ho-Chunk

Adrienne Thunder, Ho-Chunk


EAST:

Counties – Florence, Marinette, Langlade, Menominee, Oconto, Outagami, Brown, Door, Kewaunee, Calumet, Winnebago

Board Members:

Shannon Chapman, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
Term Expires: 2017
Education Director
Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 910
Keshena, WI 54135
715-799-5110
715-799-5102 Fax
smchapman@mitw.org

Virginia Nuske, Menominee and Stockbridge-Munsee, Treasurer
Term Expires: 2018
P. O. Box 910
Keshena, WI 54135
nuskerv@gmail.com

Alternates:

JoAnn Ninham, Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin
Manager, Y.E.S. Program
Oneida Tribe of Indians of Wisconsin
P. O. Box 365
Oneida, WI 54155
(920) 869-4345
(920) 869-4331
jninham2@oneidanation.org

Roger Wescott, Menominee
Admissions Counselor
Dempsey Hall
UW-Oshkosh
800 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh, WI 54901
(920) 424-0926
wescottr@uwosh.edu
www.uwosh.edu

J.P. Leary
Lisa Corn

SOUTHEAST:

Counties – Manitowoc, Sheboygan, Ozaukee, Washington, Waukesha, Milwaukee, Racine, Kenosha

Board Members:

Celeste Clark, Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina
Term Expires: 2017
Senior Advisor
American Indian Student Services
College of Letters and Science
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P. O. Box 413
Bolton Hall 195
Milwaukee, WI 53201-0413
(414) 229-5880
n1lumbee@uwm.edu
www4.uwm.edu/aiss/

Amy Tromp, Oneida
Term Expires: 2018
Principal
Indian Community School
10405 W. St. Martins Road
Franklin, WI 53132
(414) 525-6193
(414) 852-3588
tromp_a@ics-milw.org
www.ics-milw.org

Alternates:

Sommer Drake, Oneida
Multi-age 3rd/4th Grade Teacher
Shorewood School District
Indian Community School Board of Directors
sdrake@shorewood.k12.wi.us


NORTHEAST REGION:

Counties – Iron, Vilas, Oneida, Forest, Florence

Board Members:

Doreen Wawronowicz, Ojibwe Lac du Flambeau
Term expires: 2018
Ojibwe Language/Culture Instructor
Lac du Flambeau Tribal Language/Culture Department
P. O. Box 67
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
doreen.wawronowicsz@ldfschool.org

Alternates:

Wayne Valliere, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Dustin Mitchell, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Clinton Isham, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Ashley Maki, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

 


 

SOUTH:

Counties – Adams, Waushara, Marquette, Green Lake, Fond du Lac, Columbia, Dodge, Grant, Iowa, Dane, Lafayette, Green, Rock, Walworth, Jefferson

Board Members:

Aaron Birdbear
Term expires 2017
Recruitment and Retention Specialist
School of Education, UW-Madison
101 Education, 1000 Bascom Mall
Madison WI 53706
(608) 262-8427
(608) 886-3209School of Education, UW-Madison
abirdbear@wisc.edu

Rebecca Comfort, Keweenaw Bay Indian Community (Ojibwe)
Term Expires: 2018
Interim American Indian Curriculum Services Consultant
University of Wisconsin – Madison
rcomfort@wisc.edu

Alternates:

Tim Fish, Camanche Nation of Oklahoma

Jan Saiz

DPI – WIEA Liaison:

David J. O’Connor, Bad River Ojibwe
American Indian Studies Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 267-2283
david.o’connor@dpi.wi.gov
amind.dpi.wi.gov

DPI – Special Education Committee:

Eva Kubinski
School Admin Consultant
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
P. O. Box 7841
Madison, WI 53707-7841
(608) 266-2899
(608) 770-1830
eva.kubinski@dpi.wi.gov

Help further Indian Education by spreading the word!

Facebook
Facebook
Follow by Email
Google+
Google+
http://wiea.org/wiea-regions-board-members/
RSS