2018 Award Winners Announced

WIEA Announces 2018 State Award Winners



April 9, 2018

Contact: Crystal Lepscier,
2018 WIEA Awards Committee

Keshena, WI – The Wisconsin Indian Education Association (WIEA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 WIEA Awards:

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: PK-3 – TaraLeigh Cole (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: 4-7 – Javon Adams (Oneida)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: 8-10 – Caitlyn Katchenago (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: 11-12 – Allyson Pamanet (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: 2 Year Voc/Technical – Anthony Chevalier (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: 4 Year Undergraduate – Amanda Plucinski (Bad River)

2018 WIEA Student of the Year: Graduate/Post-Graduate – David O’Connor (Bad River)

2018 WIEA Indian Educator of the Year – Shannon Chapman (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Indian Elder of the Year – Romaine Delabrue (Menominee)

2018 WIEA Indian Elder/Educator of the Year – Gary Johnson (Lac Courte Oreilles)

2018 WIEA Friend of Indian Education – Michael Clark

2018 WIEA Indian Parent(s) of the Year – Rachel Jeske (Hannahville Potawatomi), Gregory Hoyt, Sr.

The awards winners have been notified and will be honored with a banquet during the WIEA conference in Keshena, WI on Saturday, April 21, 2018.

Each year, WIEA recognizes individuals who have made a positive impact on the lives and communities of Native Americans living in Wisconsin. In doing so, WIEA relies on people who are on the front lines in the day-to-day work within American Indian communities, schools, and families to help identify individuals who are making a difference in the lives of Native American students of all ages.

For their lifelong commitment and devotion to Indian Education, we have also chosen to recognize some very important individuals in the community, to include:

Dr. Ferial Deer Skye

Mark Caskey, RN

Dr. Verna Fowler

For more information about WIEA Awards, please visit www.wiea.net